Site icon NABJ

2022 NABJ Award Recipients/Honorees

Hall of Fame:
  • Drew Berry – Executive Director, NABJ
  • Michelle V. Agins – Photographer, The New York Times
  • Charles W. “Hoppy” Adams, Jr. (Posthumously) – Executive Vice President, WANN/WXTC
  • Harry D. Boomer – Anchor/Senior Reporter, Cleveland 19 News
  • Tanya K. Hart – Producer/Host, Hollywood Live, American Urban Radio Networks
  • Levi Henry, Jr. – Founder/Publisher, Westside Gazette Newspaper
  • Cheryl Smith – Publisher-Editor, I Messenger Media


Special Honors:
  • Journalist of the Year – Jacqueline Charles, Reporter, Miami Herald

  • Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist of the Year Award – Nima Elbagir, Chief International Investigative Correspondent, CNN

  • Journalist of Distinction – Imara Jones, Creator, TransLash Media

  • Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement Award – Dean Baquet, Local Investigative Times, The New York Times

  • Legacy Award – Richard M. Peery, Retired Reporter, Cleveland Plain Dealer

  • Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist Award – Sarahbeth Maney, Photojournalist, The Detroit Free Press

  • Ida B. Wells Award – Robin Lytle Turner, VP of Training, Culture & Community, Dow Jones

  • Patricia L. Tobin Media Professional Award – Kayla Tucker Adams, Founder & Chief Strategist, KTA Media Group

  • Angelo B. Henderson Community Service Award – Karleen Leveille Robinson, Morning News Anchor, WBNG TV 12

  • Journalism Educator of the Year: Miki Turner, Associate Professor of Professional Practice, University of Southern California

  • Student Journalist of the Year –  Amudalat Ajasa, Intern, The New York Times’ Ida B. Wells Society

  • Best Practices – The Markup, a nonprofit newsroom investigating how powerful institutions use technology to change society

  • Professional Chapter of the Year – NABJ-Chicago

  • Student Chapter of the Year – University of North Texas-NABJ

  • President’s Award – Jerry McCormick, Senior Public Information Officer, City of San Diego


Other Awards:
Thumbs Down –  Former owner of the Black News Channel (BNC), Beatnik Investments LLC
Exit mobile version