Site icon NABJ

Four New NABJ Board Members Elected on Aug. 7 During #NABJNAHJ20 Convention

Sept 1, 2020

Four New NABJ Board Members Elected on Aug. 7 During #NABJNAHJ20 Convention

Walter Smith-Randolph Voted NABJ’s New Treasurer
Walter Smith-Randolph, a reporter and special projects contributor for WKRC Local 12 in Cincinnati, was elected Treasurer of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ). Smith-Randolph received 289 votes (53%) while his opponent Ernest Owens received 259 votes (47 percent). Smith-Randolph currently serves as vice president of the Greater Cincinnati Association of Black Journalists and co-chair of the Young Journalists Task Force and Millennial Media Summit.

Jarrad Henderson Voted NABJ’s New Academic Representative
Jarrad Henderson, an Emmy-award winning senior producer and noted professor, was elected Academic Representative of NABJ. Henderson received 25 votes (53%) while his opponents incumbent Dr. Milbert O. Brown, Jr. and Russell Motley received 11 votes respectively (23%). Henderson’s deep involvement in NABJ was fostered through the Visual Task Force, the multimedia storytelling branch of NABJ, and his participation as a college student in NABJ’s Student Multimedia Project. He became vice-chair of the Visual Task Force in 2016 and chair in 2018. 

Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig, Tre’vell Anderson Win Unopposed Seats as Parliamentarian, and Region IV Director

Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig, the owner and publisher of MFC3 Media/shades Magazine -Celebrating Women of Color in Oakland, California was elected as Parliamentarian. She ran unopposed. Fitzhugh-Craig is an experienced editor, reporter, university instructor and media entrepreneur who has more than 20 years in the print and online journalism arenas. The above also propelled her into the PR/Marketing arena, with a strong focus on communications, social media and graphic design.

Tre’vell Anderson, a freelance multimedia journalist from Los Angeles, was also unopposed and elected Region IV Director. Anderson is a social curator and an entertainment reporter, film critic and co-host of the podcast FANTI. They are president of NABJLA and co-chair of NABJ’s LGBTQ+ Task Force.  Anderson has dedicated their career to centering those on the margins and in gray areas. That work has garnered recognition from NABJ, NLGJA, ONA, the LA Press Club and the Shorty Awards among others.

Exit mobile version