Site icon NABJ

NABJ Announces 2024 Hall of Fame Inductees & Special Honors Recipients


Editor’s Note: On Tuesday afternoon, the NABJ Board named the Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist of the Year Award honoree. This listing has been added below. The afternoon update also acknowledges Best Practices Award honoree Capital B’s additional co-founder.


The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is proud to announce its 2024 Hall of Fame inductees and 2024 Special Honors recipients. 

Awards will be presented during the #NABJ24 Convention & Career Fair in Chicago, July 31 – Aug. 4, 2024. 

The Hall of Fame Induction and Luncheon, powered by the PGA TOUR & National Education Association, will be held Friday, Aug. 2, at Noon CT.

Special Honors will be announced during the Opening Ceremony, powered by The Joyce Foundation, on Wednesday, July 31, at 6 p.m. CT, and the Salute to Excellence Awards Gala, powered by Walmart, on Saturday, Aug. 3, at 6 p.m. CT. 

Registration and ticket purchases for #NABJ24 events are available at


2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

NABJ will pay homage to the following legendary Black journalists and communicators who have made outstanding contributions to the news and media industries:


2024 Special Honors Awards

NABJ will honor the following journalists and communicators for their groundbreaking accomplishments and work to support the Black community in the media. 

 Angelo B. Henderson Community Service Award Tenikka Smith Hughes

Best Practices Award — Staff of Capital B

Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement Award — Michelle V. Agins

Ida B. Wells Award — Damaso Reyes

Journalism Educator of the Year Award — Dr. Ava Thompson Greenwell

Journalist of Distinction Award — Gary Lee

Journalist of the Year Award — Louder Than A Riot, Hosted by Rodney Carmichael and Sidney Madden

Legacy Award — Roy Lewis

Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist of the Year Award — Corey Antonio Rose

Patricia “Pat” L. Tobin Media Professional Award — Kimberley and David Rudd

Student Journalist of the Year Award — Domonique Tolliver 

Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist of the Year Award — Roberson Alphonse

Professional Chapter of the Year Award Finalists — NABJ-South Florida, New York Association of Black Journalists and NABJ-St. Louis 

The following awards will be announced during the Convention:


Exit mobile version