Site icon NABJ

NABJ Virtual Awards to Stream December 19

NABJ Virtual Awards to Stream December 19

Lynn Whitfield, Tichina Arnold, Craig Melvin, Michelle Miller, Kenneth Moton to Host

Cathy Hughes, Yamiche Alcindor, Pam Oliver, Rachel V, Scott, Rehema Ellis, Kevin Merida, Kimberly Godwin, Fred Sweets Among Honorees

View the Program Here 

Join the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) as the organization makes history again and hosts its first-ever virtual awards event on December 19, 2020, at 7:30 p.m. ET. Tickets for the event are free and available at .

The awards show, powered by FedEx, with performances by Jennifer Holliday, will kick off at 8 p.m. ET. It will be preceded by a pre-event reception at 7:30 p.m. ET. A post-event after party with DJ Andre Mack will be held from 10 p.m. to 11 p.m. ET. Tickets provide access to all three activities.

The hosts that will help NABJ recognize the winners of its 2020 Salute to Excellence Awards and pay tribute to our 2020 Special Honors recipients and Hall of Fame inductees are Lynn Whitfield, Emmy Award-winning actress; Craig Melvin, anchor of NBC News’ “TODAY”; Tichina Arnold, NAACP Image Award-winning actress; Michelle Miller , co-host of “CBS This Morning: Saturday”; and Kenneth Moton, co-anchor of “ABC World News Now” and “America This Morning.”

During the event, NABJ will also pay homage to Black journalists, media-related professionals, journalism and media educators, and journalism and media-related students who passed over the past year. NABJ is asking members and colleagues to submit those names and photos here by November 11.

View the 2020 honorees and finalists below. Click the honoree’s name to learn more about them.


The 2020 NABJ Hall of Fame Inductees:

The 2020 NABJ Special Honors Recipients:


Salute to Excellence Nominees Can Be Found by Clicking the Link for Each Main Category Below. Winners Will be Announced on December 19.

Note: To ensure NABJ’s numerous honorees and award recipients are recognized during the course of the evening, some Salute to Excellence winner announcements will be made during the ceremony, while others will be made during the reception. Winners will also be announced via NABJ’s website. Please tune in to all platforms.

Salute to Excellence categories with no entries or nominees can be found here. 


Exit mobile version