Hall of Fame


Hall of Fame

NABJ Hall of Fame Induction

Every year, NABJ pays homage to legendary Black journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the industry. The NABJ Board of Directors approves nominations. New inductees will be installed at the NABJ Hall of Fame Luncheon and Induction Ceremony scheduled during the annual convention or soon after.

Our 2020 inductees:

Our 2019 inductees:

  • Bob Black – Photojournalist
  • Garry D. Howard – Sports Journalist/Editor
  • “The Fly Jock” Tom Joyner – Radio Personality/Philanthropist
  • Wanda Lloyd – Editor/Educator
  • The Washington Post Metro Seven – Former Washington Post Reporters


  • Michael Days, Editor, Reader Engagement / Vice President at Philadelphia Media Network
  • John Jenkins,  News Operations Manager, KXAS-TV (Retired)
  • Rev. Aisha Karimah,  Community Affairs Director, WRC-TV (Retired)
  • Garth C. Reeves, Sr., Publisher Emeritus, Miami Times